Election Information

The next regular municipal elections will be held on Monday, October 22, 2018. This includes election for the office of school board Trustee. General information for Candidates and Voters is available at this time.
Candidates for school board trustee must be at least 18 years old, a Canadian citizen, reside within the board area, be a supporter of the public school board and not disqualified by any legislation from holding the office of trustees. Candidates are not required to reside within the electoral zone.
An eligible person has to nominate himself or herself by completing and filing a nomination form called a Nomination Paper with the City of Ottawa, Elections Office and paying the nomination filing fee.
Key Dates – 2018 Municipal Elections
Nomination and campaign period begins
May 1, 2018
Nomination day (last day to be nominated)
July 27, 2018
Final day for withdrawal of candidacy
July 27, 2018
Voting Day
October 22, 2018
Term of office begins
December 1, 2018

For more information, please visit the City of Ottawa elections website or contact the City of Ottawa, Elections Office at 613-580-2660 or from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday

Trustee Wards - Upcoming Boundary Adjustments to Zones 7 and 11 - 2018

We are  proposing changes to the electoral zone boundaries of Zones 7 and 11. The purpose of these changes is to better distribute the number of electors in each zone.  The changes would decrease the size of Zone 7 and increase the size of Zone 11.  Five schools which are currently in Zone 7 would become part of Zone 11.  These schools are:

Blossom Park Public School
Dunlop Public School 
Robert Bateman Public School 
Roberta Bondar Public School 
Sawmill Creek Elementary School 

With the zone boundary changes, Zone 11 would have municipal ward 10 Gloucester-Southgate added to its boundaries. 

Zone 11 is River Zone (Municipal Ward 16). Shirley Seward is the Trustee. The following schools are currently in River Zone 11: 

Bayview Public School
Carleton Heights Public School 
Clifford Bowey Public School 
Fielding Drive Public School 
General Vanier Public School 
W.E. Gowling Public School 
Brookfield High School

Zone 7 is currently Gloucester-South Nepean/Osgoode/Gloucester-Southgate (Municipal Wards 22, 20 and 10). Mark Fisher is the Trustee. The following schools are currently in Zone 7:


Adrienne Clarkson Elementary School 
Blossom Park Public School* 
Castor Valley Elementary School 
Chapman Mills Public School 
Dunlop Public School
Farley Mowat Public School 
Greely Elementary School 
Metcalfe Public School 
Osgoode Public School 
Robert Bateman Public School
Roberta Bondar Public School *
Sawmill Creek Elementary School
Steve MacLean Public School 
Vimy Ridge Public School 
Osgoode Township High School

The five schools marked with an * are affected by proposed zone change and would move out of Zone 7 and into Zone 11.   Zone 7 would be comprised of two municipal wards - Ward 22 (Gloucester-South Nepean) and Ward 20 (Osgoode) instead of three wards.   This not only balances the workload of the trustees but provides for more equitable representation for public school electors. 

You can find out more on the current 
Trustee zones.

The community is invited to provide feedback on the changes. The final step in making changes to zone boundaries is done through a submission to the Ministry by March 28, 2018. 

There will be no changes in the area trustees until after the next election.The new electoral boundaries come into effect for the next municipal election  which will be held on October 22, 2018.   All public school electors residing in the new zone boundaries will be able to vote for trustee candidates in the new zone. 

 If you have comments or questions on these changes please send them to

PROPOSED Zone 7 and Zone 11 Maps

Zone 7

Zone 11 

Contact Us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.