Admin

Library Learning Commons




catalogue2

new_books
The Agony of Bun O'Keefe by Heather T. Smith. It's Newfoundland, 1986. Fourteen-year-old Bun O'Keefe has lived a solitary life in an unsafe, unsanitary house. Her mother is a compulsive hoarder, and Bun has had little contact with the outside world. What she's learned about life comes from the random books and old VHS tapes that she finds in the boxes and bags her mother brings home. Bun and her mother rarely talk, so when Bun's mother tells Bun to leave one day, she does. Hitchhiking out of town, Bun ends up on the streets of St. John's, Newfoundland. Fortunately, the first person she meets is Busker Boy, a street musician who senses her naivety and takes her in. Together they live in a house with an eclectic cast of characters: Chef, a hotel dishwasher with culinary dreams; Cher, a drag queen with a tragic past; Big Eyes, a Catholic school girl desperately trying to reinvent herself; and The Landlord, a man who Bun is told to avoid at all cost. Through her experiences with her new roommates, and their sometimes tragic revelations, Bun learns that the world extends beyond the walls of her mother's house and discovers the joy of being part of a new family -- a family of friends who care.

Baies-des-Corbeaux by Sonia Sarfati. Lorsqu’ils ont débarqué à la maison de campagne que la mère de Théo avait louée pour les vacances, Nicolas et son cousin ignoraient tout du lourd passé de Baie-des-Corbeaux. Ils ne savaient rien du peintre damné. Rien des sorcières rouges qui le haïssaient. S’ils avaient été mieux informés, les deux garçons n’auraient sûrement pas forcé l’ouverture de la trappe permettant d’accéder au grenier. Ils ne se seraient jamais approchés des horribles toiles qui y étaient accrochées. Mais, hélas, ils ne savaient pas...

Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner. Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this illustrated novel, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Steveson!  Cameron’s cosplay creations are finally starting to earn her attention–attention she hopes to use to get into the CalArts costume design department for college. But after she wins a major competition, she inadvertently sets off a firestorm of angry comments from male fans online.  When Cameron’s family moves the summer before her senior year, she hopes to complete her costume portfolio in peace and quiet away from the abuse.  Unfortunately, the only comic shop in town–her main destination for character reference–is staffed by a dudebro owner who challenges every woman who comes into the shop.   At her twin brother’s suggestion, Cameron borrows a set of his clothes and uses her costuming expertise to waltz into the shop as Boy Cameron, where she’s shocked at how easily she’s accepted into the nerd inner sanctum. Soon, Cameron finds herself drafted into a D&D campaign alongside the jerky shop-owner Brody, friendly (almost flirtatiously so) clerk Wyatt, handsome Lincoln, and her brother Cooper, dragged along for good measure.   But as her “secret identity” gets more and more entrenched, Cameron’s portfolio falls by the wayside–and her feelings for Lincoln threaten to make a complicated situation even more precarious in this geek girl anthem from You’re Welcome, Universe author Whitney Gardner, complete with fully illustrated comic pages inked by Gardner herself.

The Last Namsara by Kristin Ciccarelli. In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.  These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.  Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm.  When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

The Mosaic by Nina Berkhout. Twyla Jane Lee has one goal. To finish senior year so she can get out of her military hometown of Halo, Montana. But to graduate, she needs to complete forty hours of community service, and that means helping out a rude and reclusive former Marine named Gabriel Finch.  A young veteran of the conflicts in the Middle East, Gabriel spends his days holed up in a decommissioned nuclear missile silo on his family farm. Twyla assumes he’s just another doomsday prepper, readying his underground shelter for Armageddon. But soon she finds out the truth, and it takes her breath away.  Gradually the two misfits form a bond, and Twyla begins to unearth the secrets that have left the Marine battling ghosts. Her discoveries force her to question her views on the wars until she realizes that even if she gets out of Halo, she won’t ever be able to leave Gabriel Finch’s story behind her.

Library Staff

Teacher-Librarian: Mrs Amini

Library Technician: Mrs Donovan

Library Facilities and Services

The Library Learning Commons has undergone significant change over the past few years. Renovations have opened up additional spaces. From our library “Oasis” where students can eat their lunch or snacks, to a number of enclosed co-learning centres where students can work collaboratively with the aid of a white board or smart TV, to a maker space with ergonomic tables and supplies for completing hands-on projects - the LLC is a place where students can access the resources they need and use them in a comfortable, inviting environment to support their learning. If you’re at the school, stop by to see our showstopping circulation desk made from upcycled books by our own students!

Front counter in the Library Learning Commons, created from upcycled books View of the Oasis area of the Library Learning Commons


Decorative ImageDecorative Image

The Library Learning Commons provides:

  • A collection of over 12,000 books, in both French and English, accessed by a computer catalogue

  • Subscriptions to 20 periodicals

  • Encyclopedias and dictionaries available online and in book form

  • Online databases

  • Computers for student use, including Chromebooks for library use and a limited number which can be signed out for the school day or to take home overnight

  • Colour scanner

  • Coin-operated photocopier/printer

  • Colour printing

Borrowing Policy

  • Student identification cards must be presented in order to borrow library material.

  • Books are available for a 3-week loan period and may be renewed, provided no one else has reserved the book.

  • Reference books may be borrowed on an overnight basis, after 12:45 pm each day, to be returned before 8:00 am the next school day.

  • Special loan periods may apply to books that are needed for class projects.

  • Students are responsible for returning all library materials by the due date. A fine of 25¢ per day per book will be charged on overdue material.

  • Students will be charged for lost or damaged material.

  • Current magazines are available for library use only. Back issues may be borrowed.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.