2018 Volunteer Appreciation Reception and Community Recognition Awards Winners

Scott and Heather Esdon
Chair's Award
Scott and Heather Esdon Woodroffe High School
This year’s Chair’s Award recipients are known by their family, friends and fellow volunteers - as the “Go to Couple”. You can always go to them and they will help out. Their leadership and organization skills are legendary. Their collaborative approach helped build one of the most productive School Councils in the District. They are leaders and mentors. They are leaving Woodroffe High School’s, School Council in very capable hands thanks to their collaborative approach to volunteering.
Rick McCloskey 
Community Partnership Award
Rick McCloskey Brookfield High School
This year’s Community Partnership Award recipient is being recognized for welcoming students into his business for over 2 decades. What students learn most from Rick is - if you have a good attitude and a good work ethic you can make your dreams come true.
Eric and Sheila Dubois
Community Award Eric and Sheila Dubois Charles H. Hulse Public School
This year’s winners inspire and encourage students’ interest in science and the arts. Through the Robotics Club, scientific concepts are brought to life; while the art of knitting and crochet has resulted in students being fascinated by textile arts. Their commitment to student well-being can be seen at both the elementary and secondary levels and for that we are very grateful. 
Excellence in Equity Award
Lowertown Community Resource Centre York Street Public School

The Lowertown Community Resource Centre is making a difference in the lives of students and their families. Club 310 is a free after schools program located at York Street Public School that serves students between the ages of 6-12 years of age. A second program known as Transitions caters to the students over the age of 13. Approximately 100 students participate in these programs on a daily basis. It is an inclusive and accepting environment where everyone is welcome.
Chrissy Rakobowchuk
Distinguished School Council Service Award
Chrissy Rakobowchuk W.E. Gowling

Since the summer of 2016, Chrissy Rakobowchuk has chaired the W. E. Gowling Greening Committee. The Greening Committee funded the construction of an outdoor classroom; launched a community "wild garden" and they hope to naturalize the kindergarten playground area within the next 5 years. It is simply remarkable all that has been accomplished by the Greening Committee, led by Chrissy Rakobowchuk in such a short amount of time.
Les Banks
Volunteer of the Year Awards
Les Banks Bell High School

Les is so well known in the Bell’s Corners community he could have been nominated over the years for his efforts at any of the public schools in his neighbourhood. Les is a parent volunteer, community leader and relationship builder. He is positive, keen to contribute and an advocate for public education. He has helped to support athletic programming, science fairs, musicals, school fundraisers, leaving ceremonies and book.
Russ Brown
Volunteer of the Year Awards
Russ Brown Merivale High School

Russ is a retired engineer who has spent more than 800 hours, over ten years volunteering at Merivale High School's Power Hour Club and Homework Club.
Russ has the ability to help students help themselves. When a student experiences that " ah - ha" moment thanks to Russ’ guidance you watch the student go from frustrated, to relieved, to proud in a matter of seconds!
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.