Student Senate

About the Student Senate

The Student Senate is the official committee representing secondary students’ views to the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board. 

It is composed of one Student Senator per secondary school and is chaired by the Student Trustees. Student Senators and Student Trustees each serve a one-year term. Student Trustees gather feedback from Student Senators to bring to the board and communicate updates to the student body at-large through the Student Senate. 

What the Student Senate Does

The Student Senate meets once a month to discuss key issues. Oftentimes, board staff attend meetings to receive feedback directly from students. Student Senators also have the opportunity to attend OCDSB Committee meetings (Committee of the Whole, Special Education Advisory Committee, Advisory Committee on Equity, Advisory Committee on the Arts, Indigenous Education Advisory Council, Audit Committee) to provide additional student voice at the board level.  

Schools must complete their Student Senator election or appointment process for the upcoming school year by May 31st. Typically, Student Senators also serve on their school’s student council. Students interested in becoming a Student Senator should contact their student council, student council teacher-supervisor, or school administration. For more information, refer to Policy P.113.GOV: Student Senate.

Members of the Student Senate


Student Senator

AY Jackson

Aleyna Kilic


Jules Wong


Meena Mosa

Cairine Wilson

Vanessa Wright


Shilpa Rao

Colonel By

Joy Sawyer

Earl of March

Jerry Zhang

Glebe CI

Darcy McCoy

Gloucester HS

Ailish Moher


Ahmed Yasin

John McCrae

Yanni Dai

Lisgar CI

Leen Al-Refae

Longfields Davidson Heights

Nyla Sattar

Merivale HS

Tony Wang

Nepean HS

Khalid Filali

Osgoode Township

Callia Bickmore

Ottawa Carleton Virtual

Joy Shen

Ottawa Technical SS

Kieran McMillan


Hannah Bantigue

Sir Robert Borden

Carter Johnston-Nielson

Sir Wilfred Laurier

Eshaal Qaisar

South Carleton

Justine Bazerly

West Carleton

Antong Hou

Woodroofe HS

Maryam Abdullahi

Student Trustees 2023-2024

 Emma Hong

Emma Hong
2023-2024 Student Trustee
[email protected]
 Malaika Kamanzi

Malaika Kamanzi
2023-2024 Student Trustee
[email protected]

Mail correspondence to trustees can be sent to 133 Greenbank Road, Ottawa, Ontario, K2H 6L3

Contact Us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.